• The Gage Hotel – Marathon, Texas

    Gage Hotel
  • Bullion Plaza School – Miami, Arizona

    Bullion Plaza School
  • Hotel El Capitan – Van Horn, Texas

    Hotel El Capitan
  • Val Verde Hotel – Socorro, New Mexico

    Val Verde Hotel
  • The Owls Club – Tucson, Arizona

    Owls Club
  • El Paso High School – El Paso, Texas

    El Paso High School
  • Trost Residence – El Paso, Texas

    Trost Residence
  • Albuquerque High School – Albuquerque, New Mexico

    Albuquerque High School
  • University of Texas El Paso – El Paso, Texas

    University of Texas El Paso

Hotel Oregon
El Paso, Texas


Description: Hotel Oregon
Other Names: H.R.O Building
Address: 213 1/2 South Oregon Street, El Paso, El Paso County, Texas
Type: hotel with retail space
Original Client:  Davis Brothers acting for Howard, Rankin & O’Fallon  of St Louis
Date: about 1916
Condition: extant

Architect or Firm:  Trost
Associated Architect or Firm: Trost & Trost
Contractors: V.E. Ware
Dimensions and Orientation: two story block; faced west
Budget/Cost: $50,000

Wall Materials: brick
Roofing Materials: flat
Other Materials Used: A secondary roof, sheltering windows, is Spanish tile awning with wood brackets.
Remodeling and Additions:

Location of Drawings: none known to exist
Location of Documentary Photographs: El Paso Public Library: Ponsford 542, perspective view

Bibliography: “Hotel Accommodations Here Are Ample,” El Paso Herald, January 28, 1922, page 8B (exterior photograph as part of a montage of hotels, captioned “only a fraction of the number of hotels here that give first class accommodations. At the bottom on the left is Hotel Oregon, owned by Mayor Chas. Davis.”

Remarks: The H.R.O Building was completed in August 1916 for Howard, Rankin & O’Fallon of St Louis. The two story building was to have retail shops on the bottom and a hotel on the top floor. The hotel was called Hotel Oregon.

Prepared for the El Paso Public Library by Lloyd C. and June F. Engelbrecht under a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities, 1990