• The Gage Hotel – Marathon, Texas

    Gage Hotel
  • Bullion Plaza School – Miami, Arizona

    Bullion Plaza School
  • Hotel El Capitan – Van Horn, Texas

    Hotel El Capitan
  • Val Verde Hotel – Socorro, New Mexico

    Val Verde Hotel
  • The Owls Club – Tucson, Arizona

    Owls Club
  • El Paso High School – El Paso, Texas

    El Paso High School
  • Trost Residence – El Paso, Texas

    Trost Residence
  • Albuquerque High School – Albuquerque, New Mexico

    Albuquerque High School
  • University of Texas El Paso – El Paso, Texas

    University of Texas El Paso

G. H. Van Stone School
Estancia, New Mexico


Description: G. H. Van Stone School
Other Names:
Address: 809 West Joseph Avenue, Estancia, Torrance County, New Mexico
Type: educational
Original Client: [Estancia School District]
Historic Inventory:
Date: 1920; cornerstone dated 1921
Condition: extant; vacant 2012 in use as a school

Architect or Firm: Henry C. Trost
Associated Architect or Firm: Trost & Trost
Contractors: J. N. Bush
Dimensions and Orientation: one story, 128 feet across x 81 feet 6 inches deep
Budget/Cost: $23,000 (?)

Foundation: concrete
Wall Materials: brick
Roofing Materials: composition, metal
Other Materials Used:
Remodeling and Additions:

Present Owner: school district
Location of Drawings: El Paso Public Library: (K-3) two sets of different ink on linen plans: 5 sheets, dated May, 1921; 6 sheets, dated July, 1920; Ponsford 593, machine reproduction of floor plan, dated June 28, 1920, with penciled notes: Built 1921 and 23,000.00; Ponsford 644, duplicate of same without notes.
Location of Documentary Photographs: UTEP Special Collections


Remarks: Commission 2509 for both sets of plans

The school consists of six classrooms, one with a stage, a combination gym-assembly room, library, principal’s office, and toilet facilities. The cornerstone gives the name and date of the school.

Prepared for the El Paso Public Library by Lloyd C. and June F. Engelbrecht under a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities, 1990