• The Gage Hotel – Marathon, Texas

    Gage Hotel
  • Bullion Plaza School – Miami, Arizona

    Bullion Plaza School
  • Hotel El Capitan – Van Horn, Texas

    Hotel El Capitan
  • Val Verde Hotel – Socorro, New Mexico

    Val Verde Hotel
  • The Owls Club – Tucson, Arizona

    Owls Club
  • El Paso High School – El Paso, Texas

    El Paso High School
  • Trost Residence – El Paso, Texas

    Trost Residence
  • Albuquerque High School – Albuquerque, New Mexico

    Albuquerque High School
  • University of Texas El Paso – El Paso, Texas

    University of Texas El Paso

Artesia Hotel
Artesia, New Mexico


Description: Artesia Hotel
Other Names: none
Address: Artesia, Eddy County, New Mexico
Type: hotel
Original Client:
Date: 1925
Condition: demolished 1978

Architect or Firm: Henry C. Trost (?)
Associated Architect or Firm: Trost & Trost (?)
Dimensions and Orientation: rectangular, 6 floors

Foundation: unknown
Wall Materials: brick
Roofing Materials: flat
Other Materials Used: cement or cast stone ornament
Remodeling and Additions:

Location of Drawings: El Paso Public Library: (L-19) 2 sheets, tissue plans; (L-9) 2 sheets, tissue plans; (L-8) one sheet, tissue plan; (M-1) 3 sheets, ink-on-linen plans
Location of Documentary Photographs:

Bibliography: Southern New Mexico Historical Society, Eddy County New Mexico to 1981 (Carlsbad, New Mexico: Southeastern New Mexico Historical Society, 1982), page 48, photograph of the Artesia Hotel

Remarks: The plans are for three different buildings. L-8 and L-9 are for a three story rectangular building approximately 94 feet across. The second floor was for offices and the third for hotel rooms.
L-19 is for a U-shaped two story building with a patio, approximately 140 feet wide.
M-1 is for a hotel with a main floor approximately 100 feet square, and a two story shaft of approximately 100 feet by 50 feet.

It is not known if the hotel that was built was by Trost & Trost.

Prepared for the El Paso Public Library by Lloyd C. and June F. Engelbrecht under a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities, 1990.